Monday, November 16, 2015

Dozens of women from across the state were honored Nov. 10 during the eighth annual Iowa Women of Innovation Awards. Des Moines Area Community College and the Technology Association of Iowa recognized women innovators, role models and leaders in the science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) fields.

The awards were established eight years ago to promote the outstanding contributions Iowa women make to technological communities and through mentoring other women and girls.

Winners of the 2015 awards include Kan Wang, Iowa State University, Ames; Dawn Bowlus, University of Iowa, Iowa City; Judith Joyce, EarthView Environmental Inc., Coralville; Jodi French, Harrisvaccines Inc., Nevada; Principal Financial Group Inc., Des Moines; Katie Patterson, Happy Medium, Des Moines; Kimberly Wayne, Jewels Academy, Des Moines; and Andrea Flemming, Iowa City Public Library/Wild Blue Fig, Iowa City.

Student winners are Jessica Graham, Iowa State University, Ames, and Rachel Eckert, West High School, Davenport.